Blue Key Honor Society

Home » Blue Key Administration

Blue Key Administration

National Office

Dr. Jeremy Sheffield, Ed.D.

Executive Director

Email me:

Mr. Byron Thetford

Director of Operations

Email me:


Board of Directors

Dr. Thompson M. Faller, Ph.D.


National Blue Key President
The University of Portland
Blue Key Advisor
Philosophy, Emeritus Professor

Mr. Bob Izlar


National Blue Key Vice President
The University of Georgia
Blue Key Advisor
Director, Center for Forest Business
Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources

Dr. Sammy Spann, Ph.d
Spann Headshot

National Blue Key Secretary
The University of Toledo
Blue Key Advisor
Associate Vice President and Dean of Students

Dr. Abigaile VanHorn, Ph.D.

National Blue Key Treasurer
North Central College
Blue Key Advisor
Director of Curriculum Development
Sigma Chi Fraternity International Headquarters


Mr. Alfred Schwalbe

Blue Key Board of Directors Member
Host Institution: North Dakota State University

Mr. Isaac Gottman

Isaac G.png

Blue Key Board of Directors Member
Host Institution: Truman State University

Ms. Sarah Jo Martens

Blue Key Board of Directors Member
Host Institution: Michigan Technological University
Mr. Richard Hester

Blue Key Board of Directors ex-officio
University of West Alabama Representative

Board of Directors Emeritus

Ms. Michelle Kozel

Colorado School of Mines
Honored with Board of Directors Emeritus on January 19th, 2019
Blue Key Honor Society Board of Directors




Dr. Chris Sieverdes, Ph.D.

Clemson University
Honored with Executive Director Emeritus on January 19th, 2019
Blue Key Honor Society Executive Director


Dr. Chris Sieverdes has served Blue Key for a total of 30 years of which the first twenty were as Advisor to Blue Key at Clemson University. In 2000 he also led a group of advisors and students to administer Blue Key at the national level. He served as Blue Key Executive Director from 2002 through 2016.  He was Professor and Community Development Specialist at Clemson University until his retirement in 2006.  At Clemson he won two of the University’s most prestigious awards: The “1985 Alumni Master Teacher Award (top classroom teacher)” and the 1996 Alumni Distinguished Public Service Award for his leadership of the Palmetto Leadership Program with the Extension Service.  He has three children – Clemson graduates.

%d bloggers like this: